Why We Need to Stay Angry About the War In Ukraine

An open letter to Medium

MarkfromBoston 🌻Ukraine
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Photo by Rostislav Artov on Unsplash

Dear members of Medium,

Unlike the wars from generations past which were fought in static newspapers and through short television clips, the war for Ukraine is fought online. On Twitter, even. It is extremely personal. In your face, hauntingly close. In living color. Not black and white.

Even though we may be ready for the next story in the news cycle, now is not the time to look away from Ukraine.

I am so afraid for President Zelensky, his wife and family, and all the people I don’t know in person. They have reached out to us live on social media just like they were beloved neighbors living next door.

President Zelensky’s video interview on ABC included his plea in slightly broken English asking directly for help to protect his people.

He was none too proud to ask as his people’s lives are in immediate danger.

After watching, I just felt shocked, angry, and guilty. Yet, the psychic pain I must not rid. His cause needs to stay in the limelight. It made me finally take action.

I still feel when I die, God is going to have words with me. “What did you do to stop the war, my son?” During WWII he watched his Church stand and watch as the Nazis…

--

--

MarkfromBoston 🌻Ukraine
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

Sharing stories of thrills of love. Just completed a teaching volunteer service in Costa Rica. Treasure the Medium tribe as my family. Connecting is what I do.