Windows 11 Update May Result In Losing Wifi Connectivity

And you will need internet to get it back

JM
ILLUMINATION’S MIRROR

--

Image by MarkgrafAve on Canva Pro

Today is November 5, 2021, and I have had my computer for almost three weeks. This morning, following a Windows update, I logged on, ready to start working.

Unfortunately, the WiFi driver appeared to have disappeared. Not only was I not connected to WiFi, but there was no way to connect or attempt a connection.

Screenshot by author; GIF created by author in Canva Pro

These are the steps I took to solve the problem:

1) I used my phone to create an ethernet connection.

Screenshots by author; GIF created by author in Canva Pro

2) I contacted Microsoft support.

Screenshots by author; GIF created by author in Canva Pro

3) I used quick assist (Ctrl+⊞ Win+Q) to give the support person access to my computer. Microsoft confirmed that the windows update I installed had found an out-of-date driver and deleted it during the update…

--

--