Recipe

A Delicious Norwegian Apple Cake

My great-grandmother’s original recipe

Elin Melaas
Nutrition
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2023

--

Image by the author.

My great-grandmother was an excellent cook. She became a widow with two small kids when she was barely 30 years old. She never remarried and made a living for her family by cooking for others.

I remember her as a caring and independent woman. She was just 54 years old when I, her first great-grandchild, was born. I have lots of good memories of cooking with and eating my great-grandma’s food. I’m lucky to have inherited her handwritten recipe book.

Apple cake

The image below shows the recipe for apple cake, written by my great-grandmother many years ago. It’s in Norwegian, so I’ll translate it for you.

My great-grandmother wrote this recipe. Image by the author.

My great-grandmother’s original way of making apple cake. 🍎

  • 125 grams of butter
  • 125 grams of sugar
  • 125 grams of wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2–4 apples
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar

--

--

Elin Melaas
Nutrition

Books, reading, health, parenting, and coffee 📚 MSc in Medical Physics and BSc in Nutrition. Editor at Illumination. Owner of Hooked on Books.