Three Blogs and Podcast — August 13, 2017

My Weekly Reading List

billperegoy
im-becoming-functional
2 min readAug 12, 2017

--

I didn’t find myself doing quite as much reading as usual this week, but still I had to work hard to narrow down my reading list to three articles and one blog post. Here are my picks for this week.

I really like very basic blog posts like this one. There is something really wonderful about a writer who can take a confusing but fairly small concept like JavaScript closures and explain it in a clear and simple way. This reminds me that I should probably focus some of my posts on more constrained topics like this.

I haven’t taken the time to start working with Phoenix 1.3.0 yet, but it’s something I’ve been awaiting since I saw Chris McCord give a presentation on it a few months ago. I love Phoenix and am looking forward to try out the new features.

I just recently started reading Richard Schneeman’s blog and it’s always a good read. This week he gives a rundown of what’s gotten better about frontend development since he last worked in that world in 2009. He hear so much negativity about frontend frameworks and the rate of change, so it’s nice to get a different perspective from a largely backend developer.

The Bike Shed is one of my must-listen podcasts every week. It always stays highly technical and dives into whatever technical issues Derek and Sean have been dealing with over the past week. I found this edition particularly interesting due to the discussion of Contracts.ruby, which gives a way to emulate strong typing in Ruby.

--

--

billperegoy
im-becoming-functional

Polyglot programmer exploring the possibilities of functional programming.