Beta version of Recommendation App

Jim Knight
I’m building an app
2 min readJan 16, 2017

10 days ago, I created a mockup of an app I wanted to fix-up. It’s an app I built to record TV Show and Movie recommendations.

Mockup:

Mockup

Having the mockup was really nice for keeping my focus. The mockup has no color so I had to decide on a color scheme. I found something on Dribbble that would restrict me to just the blue family but had a nice family of colors. I played around with the placement but having a colored background with white tiles looks really nice.

New home screen:

Home screen

While I was there I wanted to add a way to enter comments right after rating a movie so I added a screen for that:

Rating/comments screen

It’s not perfect yet but it’s starting to be a really nice way for me to track recommendations. I really love the colors and interface. I’m going to clean it up and add features as I find the need but for now, it’s looking good.

RecommendHighly.com

--

--

Jim Knight
I’m building an app

Polyglot with emphasis on web/mobile applications. Home automation/SmartThings.