A First Step into VR

Zach Guiciardi
#im310-sp17 — social media
4 min readMar 17, 2017

During my spring break this year, I bought me a Daydream VR Headset for my Google Pixel XL. I had just bought the Pixel XL earlier this month and was getting used to the phone when i discovered an app called Daydream. I opened the app, curious about what it did and why it was predownloaded on my phone, to find that it was a virtual reality app. I’ve always been interested in virtual reality, but I never bought into buying a large VR system such as the Oculus Rift, HTC Vive, or the Playstation Vr system. I know VR was taking off, but all of the systems seemed limited in their capabilities, especially anything outside simple 360° viewing, and basic hand motions. So when I found the Daydream headset for $79 at a Best Buy, I figured this would be a great first step into VR, and get a firsthand experience with it to see if I had any further interest in a high quality system for Virtual Reality.

Setup: The Daydream VR set comes with: the headset, a Bluetooth remote, and instruction/warranty information. The concept is simple enough to use, you put your phone horizontally in the front of the headset and latch it into place. Then you can take the remote before putting the goggles over your eyes and you are ready to go. It is a very simple setup.

Use: Once your headset is on properly and the straps are adjusted to fit your head, the Daydream app is automatically opened when put into the headset. During the first use, you will need to take the phone out of the googles to sign into your account (this also needs done with several apps or games for the Daydream), but once you’ve signed in once, your good to go until you sign out. You then calibrate the remote by holding it forward, pressing down the home button, and letting it sync. The app then goes through it’s calibrations for the first time user and puts you through a simple tutorial displaying the features of Daydream. Once you have completed the tutorial, you are free to use Daydream as you will.

Cons: I have 2 major issues with the Daydream as of now. The first is that you need either a small case or no case to put the Pixel into the Headset. So if you have a larger case (like I do) such as an Otterbox, you will need to remove it each time you want to use the Daydream, which gets annoying. The second issue I have is that the Daydream app opens immediately upon putting the phone in the headset. So if you have another app you want to use in the headset, it must be Daydream compatible, otherwise you cannot use it.

Pros: While the Daydream headset may not have the best technology, not the best graphics, but if you already have the phone, the headset is only an additional $79. If you want to try VR out for yourself, this is a great way to go about it. I would say the same even for other phones if they are VR compatible.

Daydream Home Screen

Opinion: I do enjoy my Daydream headset. It is a fun experience and there are some very cool apps that go along with it. I hope that Google will allow more third party content to be used through the Daydream in the future, but the limited library (especially free library) has some good titles in it. Though I will say, the Daydream needs to be used in about 30–45 minute increments at a time. The headset needs to be tight to the face for the best visibility, so after a while it begins to feel uncomfortable. Also to this point, if you have the googles on too long, you feel somewhat dizzy when they are removed, so make sure to be careful when using the Daydream.

--

--