A Wednesday: Understanding Through Emojis

Zach Guiciardi
#im310-sp17 — social media
2 min readMar 30, 2017

🗓️March 29. 🛌🔆🛏️9️⃣🕘😷🤒🤢. 📖✍️➡️🏫🔟🕙➕😴😴🏫. ➡️🏠🛌1️⃣2️⃣🕛. 🛌🛏️👱👱👱➡️💿🏌️. 👱➡️🏫1️⃣🕐➡️🔒🏫2️⃣🕑.🏐4️⃣🕓➡️6️⃣🕕.🍴🍽️➡️🏫📖✍️8️⃣🕗. ➡️🏠📺(🐉⚔️🛡️❄️). 🔟🕙📓📖✍️➡️🚿1️⃣1️⃣🕚. 🛌1️⃣2️⃣🕛.

Transcript: Today is Wednesday March 29. I woke up at 9am and felt sick. It feels like I have a cold. I finished some last minute homework before going to class. My class lasted an hour and I almost fell asleep twice. I went back home and took an hour nap before going disk golfing with my two friends. My next class started at 1pm and I went to the locker room immediately after class. I did some more homework in the locker room until our volleyball practice started at 4pm. We had practice for 2 hours, then we went to dinner. Afterwards, we had a team study hall until 8pm. I returned home and watched 1 episode of Game of Thrones. At 10pm I worked on some homework for an hour before I showered and relaxed until I fell asleep at midnight.

Reflection: I’ve never been a big fan of emojis. I’ve personally preferred a simple “:)” or “:D” but full blown emojis have never been my style. I found this experiment interesting because I’m not too familiar with emojis to begin with, so I was not sure the exact amount or types of emojis available to tell a story. There was some difficulty getting started, but once I started going, I did not have much trouble creating a story about my day.

There is an unique aspect to speaking in emojis. The English language is made up of 26 characters that make every single word we know. So when you try and replicate the language through emojis, which are strictly pictures, there are definitely some details lost. Also I found that there are still not enough emojis. I was looking specifically for a frisbee and a locker room, where no such emoji exists. I had to make due with some combination of emojis to create my own words. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so I think that is where the problem lies. There are so many interpretations of what a picture or emoji can represent, so exactly what you mean can be misinterpreted very quickly. I believe the best way to use emojis is with a combination of words. This will create a great understanding of the situation, and you will be able to create a sense of emotion from the emojis.

--

--