CUPRAP: How to Market Like Every Other College

Brittany Mlynek
#im310-sp17 — social media
4 min readMar 15, 2017

Ah! Spring Break. The fantastic time when students can relax, sleep in, and maybe even travel. Unfortunatley, I have no money. Therefore, I cannot be one of those students who travels the world. For this spring break, I was fortunate enough to enjoy my home, my dog, and a homecooked meal every single day. In other words, I didn’t do anything productive. The only thing that drove me out of my comfortable bed was an event titled CUPRAP.

To provide some background information, I am the current social media manager for the admissions page for Juniata College. I have worked with the marketing department for all four years of my college career. CUPRAP stands for College and University Public Relations and Associated Professionals. It is an event that students are asked/invited to go to in partner with some of the marketing team to sit in on presentations and to network. Many of the college’s send members of the marketing department to pickup ideas and to learn more about the importance of marketing through different media. Half of the presentations given were about the benefits of digital marketing, while the other were about tactics and creativity regarding marketing. As I am completing an honors thesis in marketing and storytelling for a rural company, I knew most of the information presented. I feel, if I had better presenting skills, I could have given most of these presentations. But it is a good feeling knowing my whole semester of research and implementation of this research is accurate and can be reinforced by professionals.

It is fair to say that digital marketing has made its way to popularity, however, it is conferences like these that make me wonder how many similar ways can colleges market. No matter the college, I have seen many of the same ideas to reach out to students. The majority of schools that attended CUPRAP are small, similar colleges located in Pennsylvania. Each marketing to students through social media, video, photo, journalism, and even direct mail. Each place is marketing the correct way in today’s terms. The question is, how to make a point of differentiation among the many. This is something I am interested in when considering my future. I enjoy marketing for those who only think ‘inside the box’.

For me, the conference was a very interesting experience and I enjoyed every moment of networking with other higher education employees. The reactions I got when I told these employees that I was a student could have won America’s Funniest Home Videos. When networking, I shared the opportunities I have been lucky enough to experience meanwhile watching the jaw drop of the person I was networking with. It really surprised me how many colleges do not have as many opportunities that Juniata offers. Juniata has its own in-house video production team made up of students, as well as Juniata Associates or student managers. Many other colleges do not have the type of program where students can work along with staff to produce material for the school. I guess I never really understood how much experience and opportunity JC gave me until I saw what other schools have to offer. Looking back now, I am so thankful I came here. The bonds I have made, along with the opportunities given have provided me with a future I am looking forward to.

Mentioned before, I work in the marketing deparment as a member of the Digital Media Studio or DMS, producing videos for the school. My boss, Luke Fragello, actually received an award this year! He received what is known as a CUPIE award. This award is, “awarded to a public relations professional, president, higher education advocate, public official or outstanding faculty or staff member who exemplifies CUPRAP’s fundamental purposes of supporting and advancing the understanding of higher education.” (CUPRAP website) In my personal opinion, he deserved it. I have never met a more dedicated person who truly loves what they do. I am honored to have him as my boss and my mentor.

Overall, CUPRAP was an experience I was glad I attended. Meeting and networking with other higher education employees excites me for my future. Listening to the speeches, and viewing how schools market to people has made me feel prepared and ready to start in the working world. I am ready to do my job. I am ready to make a difference. So bring it on world.

--

--