LAPTOP ALTRUISM

Haruka Kamegaya
#im310-sp17 — social media
1 min readMar 28, 2017

For this social experiment, I asked my friend if I could use his laptop for a second and do completely unnecessary things on Facebook page logged in as myself. I was incredibly hungry in the library at 12am, so I just pick my friend who was working on something on his laptop for my social experiement. I told him my laptop was out of battery and I started watching some cooking videos on Facebook. While watching the cooking videos, I kept muttering about how hungry I was by saying, “Oh my goodness I am so hungry… This looks so good…” The audio was on, so he knew exactly what I was doing. His initial reaction was giving me a smiling face and said nothing. 3 minutes later, I was still watching the video and starting to drool. He then laughed and asked me, “do you really have to do this now?” I told him that I have to do this for now. A minute later, I decided to finish the social experiment and told him I was doing the social experiement on him. He told me he thought I was crazy and he felt weird letting strangers use his laptop at the first place. He then told me a stranger from no where randomely start to watch cooking videos on facebook did not make sense at all to him.

--

--