Online Multiplayer Games and Creating Friendships

Brittney Isom
#im310-sp17 — social media
3 min readMar 17, 2017
Tera Logo (MMO I play!)

Throughout my life, I had a hard time finding people who liked things I enjoyed. Those who I went to school with all had different things that they enjoyed, and sometimes I was lucky to find someone with one shared interest. That led to us becoming pretty close friends, and we shared what we loved to expand our horizons but generally one of us became tired of what we would be playing, leaving the other alone on a multiplayer game.

Mabinogi Logo (Another MMO I play!)

But by playing that game, I was able to find friends just by grouping up with people. Partying allowed me to find others to help while they simultaneously helped me, and by joining a guild, everyone helped each other and we did a lot of fun group things together such as a 12 player dungeon run. Running dungeons allows everyone to help each other while being able to acquire items one would not be able to get if trying alone or with unfamiliar people.

Recently, I have purchased Final Fantasy XIV on my PlayStation 4. This game was a recommendation from one of my online friends, whom I met because of our shared interests in Final Fantasy XV and Overwatch. After playing FFXV and seeing pictures of my friends’ characters from FFXIV, I decided to spend the money and buy the game. I feel as though I made a good choice, and now I have someone to play with who is excited to have someone new to share their favorite game with while showing me the ropes and helping me out as I begin my new adventure in this unfamiliar world.

While I haven’t found anyone else on my server to talk to yet, I hope I can find others willing to party with me and run some dungeons. :)

This same friend invited me to play competitive Overwatch with him and some others as well. By joining that group, I acquired a handful of new friends with similar interests who enjoy my company and playing Overwatch, whether it be competitive or quick play, together and sharing our ideas together. We consider all of ourselves friends and it’s a wonderful feeling gaining friends through games.

--

--