Relationship Status = Fake

Emily Angeline
#im310-sp17 — social media
2 min readFeb 27, 2017

I posted the fake news on Sunday February at 12 pm on Facebook. I said I was in a relationship but I did not tag anyone else. I did not want to involve someone else in this. I told my mother before posting but no one else. Seconds after my best friend from home text me about it. She was congratulating me and asking for more information. I told her that it was false. She was sad she got duped.

I had many other reactions like that. Friends from college and my high school liked the post. If someone called me personally out on it, I would tell them it was false. If a person only liked the status, I did not tell them then. One friend asked about it though snapchat. My some of the swim team talked about it behind my back and then one of them asked about it though text. My housemates were even fooled. They talked amongst themselves trying to figure out who it was. I walked in later that night and they were all looking at me weirdly. At first it was weird then I realized what they why they were being weird. I told them and they were also disappointed.

The reactions I mostly got were likes (35 likes). I did get five loves, and three wow expressions on Facebook. This was the most attention a post has gotten. I do not use Facebook for status updates in my life. I only post pictures that I take of my friends. Therefore, I think many people were surprised that I would post this on Facebook. I would never post my relationship status on Facebook.

I fooled a lot of people. My two friends from college called me out because they know me personally; but many other people who I do not talk too about my relationship status thought it was real. I did post the day after telling people that the news was fake and it was for a class. I found that people believe a lot of stuff they put on the internet. More people are going to believe a post if you post it and if it is personal.

--

--