What is social media to me?

Mar-Jana Phillips
#im310-sp17 — social media
1 min readJan 24, 2017

Social media is the use of different platforms to convey a message to a mass of people. This is relevant to me because I can communicate with my friends at a much faster rate no matter where they are in the world and it doesn’t cost any money. This also is relevant to me because I am a millennial and we live in a digital era where we are consumed by our technology. Everything we do is becoming digital.

What interest me the most in social media is the ability to reveal more about ourselves and being able to influence others. People are able to be more transparent with their thoughts and feelings and show a more sensitive side that people don’t really get to see very often. With social media, people have the chance to make a difference and influence someone ‘s opinion. They will feel less like a bystander and more of a participant who has a voice. The future of social media I believe is heading towards more fake news. With all these platforms, it is hard to find real news anymore. Different platforms just generate fake news just to get buzz. How we create our own opinion will diminish because we have a bunch of untrusted sites and accounts on social media that will try to tell us what to think.

--

--