Writing a Thesis

Brittany Mlynek
#im310-sp17 — social media
3 min readJan 27, 2017

This is a story all about how my life flipped with a little thing called a senior thesis. Now, I have had a few people ask me, “do you have to write one of those things?” No. The answer is no. I chose to write this and it was probably the best, worst mistake of my life.

It began as any other normal year. As it was my senior year I was a little more excited than most. The very first few weeks of my honors thesis course I only had to decide what I wanted to do for the rest of the year. It wasn’t until I chose a company and wrote out my abstract and title that I was terrified for what may come.

The title of my thesis is, Establishing an online presence for a rural business: Creating congruency between Internet strategies and brand to enhance audience reach. Creating a title was even a hard process. My advisor on this project, Donna Weimer, helped me to form the best possible grouping of words to make it sound important. I think we succeeded. I think.

To define my project, I chose a local Huntingdon small business and am creating their online content. This company began with no online presence at all. Meaning no social media, no website, no nothing. If you googled them, google was even confused. My honors thesis is about the process of creating an online brand for a rural company. There is currently not that much research on how to market online for rural companies, due to the lack of knowledge of the rural community. People are majorly spread out in these areas, and some don’t have the access to the Internet as most urban areas do.

Since the invention of my title, I have been researching and typing and typing and typing some more. For the past few months, I have been worrying if I am behind on everything. Luckily, I am not too far behind in comparison to my thesis mates. However, I still feel like I am getting nothing accomplished. It is a never ending process of edits and changes and it is never really finished. This is probably why I feel like nothing is getting done because nothing really is getting done.

This brings me to the point of why writing a thesis was probably the best, worst decision of my life. Right now, I am fully regretting it. I don’t want to even look at it anymore due to the fact that I’ve been working on it so much. I hate it. I think it is aweful. I don’t know if I can make it any better. I am currently at the point where I have to correspond with my client’s schedule which is hard because we are both busy at the same times. Juggling school and working with a client is hard work and I don’t want hard work my senior year.

This is what I want to do in the future, so I am pushing myself towards it more. I know that in the end I will be happy with everything and happy that I completed it. But for now, I will continue to hate everything about it.

Wish me luck…

--

--