Apparently Nobody Cares What I Post on Social Media

Jill Palmer
#im310-sp18 — social media
3 min readMar 8, 2018

I was not expecting this outcome at all.

I couldn’t come up with a fake news story, so I decided to share some of the more believable Onion articles on social media.

The results were less than enthusiastic.

I thought this looked realistic enough

Thanks Amy….

I started to think that maybe my Facebook friends were too smart for this trick. So I moved to Instagram.

NOTHING. AGAIN. Except for one like from a maybe-fake animal account. I even tried to create engagement by putting my own caption and hashtags on the post. Then again, that article is a bit of a stretch. Maybe I underestimated the intelligence of my Instagram pals.

Getting desperate now, I went on Tumblr in the hope that it would yield better results. A lot of my friends follow me on Tumblr and I was sure that someone would react if I announced some sort of drastic change, something very unlike me.

I am a sophomore Professional Writing POE. I don’t know anything about chemistry. That classroom doesn’t look like anywhere at Juniata. I found that image on Google. Surely, surely, someone will call me out of on my lies this time.

ABBY.

Well. I guess I appreciate the support.

I’m honestly disappointed. I was expecting more engagement, some outrage maybe. Instead I was largely ignored. Maybe this is because I usually don’t post anything so my friends aren’t used to seeing activity from my feed. Maybe, because many of my friends are in college and struggling through midterms, they just didn’t see the posts when they were up.

I decided to do one more experiment. I gave my laptop to a friend and told her to post whatever she wanted to my Facebook feed. I wanted to see just how much I could do without anyone acknowledging it.

…Unbelievable

--

--