Bailey Oratorical 2018

ShurikenSean
#im310-sp18 — social media
1 min readMar 2, 2018

I wasn’t that surprised by the winner of the Bailey Oratorical 2018. Alex Jones talked about a very broad dream that could be related to by most people. he focused on leadership through compassion and acknowledging people’s differences without letting them separate others. he also connected his talk with the original prompt effectively repeatedly bring up being a dreamer and being optimistic. his charisma throughout the speech showed his interest in what he was talking about and made you want to listen to him. so him winning first place was not uprising for me.
one thing I noticed about many speeches though it may just be me that thinks this is the lack of historical facts about what the speaker was talking about. I guess part of it is focusing on the present with dreaming of the future but I feel like also having facts from the past about their topic would added to their persuasion. for example one speech mentioned blue being associated as a boys color and pink a girls. but that wasn’t always the case historically and I feel like it would be interesting for them to bring facts like that up to show things changing from the past to present to then look at how they can change in the future.
those were some of the things that came to mind while I was watching the Bailey

--

--