Motivations

ShurikenSean
#im310-sp18 — social media
2 min readFeb 27, 2018

an example of some thing I do in daily life on social media involving intrinsic motivation would be posting a random video I enjoyed. I see something I like or find interesting and want to post that I liked it on my timelines. though extrinsic motivation then plays a role in the same post as I want to share it with others so they can enjoy it as well as hear what they thought about it. also if someone has the same interest its a way to start a conversation. another thing involving extrinsic motivation would be commenting on something. as I want people to notice what I say and or share my ideas on the subject. something similar to posting with the same extrinsic motivation for me would be wearing a shirt from a certain series. I want people to notice I have interest in those series and maybe they’ll come up to talk to me about it. an extrinsic motivation for many students would be doing assignments, yes they might want to do them to learn more about the subject but the overarching reason for a specific assignment is to get a good grade.
an intrinsic motivation for me to play video games or watch a show is to work towards something or be entertained. an extrinsic motivation for those is then that I want to play with my friends online or show them what I’ve done in a game. and in the case of shows having watch it to interact with other fans of the series.
those are just a few examples I would run into in daily life

--

--