Becoming a Student at Zoom University

Liv Mitchell
#im310-sp20— social media
3 min readApr 21, 2020

Part of me wished that Spring Break would last a little longer… and now all I can say is: be careful what you wish for.

The news came slow, but felt like a never ending storm of confusion and anxiety. One email after another would lead to the final email announcing that my college would be closed for the rest of the semester.

For me, this wasn’t as alarming because I am fortunate enough to live nearby and could easily go and pack up my stuff to bring home. However, I had a friend from Texas who had a load of issues. I also have friends that depend on their dorm room as their permanent address. Not to mention all the seniors that very easily lost the little time they had left, and now question when they will get to celebrate their graduation.

The whole thing was a mess, and remains somewhat of a mess as we continue to figure out what we’re doing.

On top of this however, was an unexpected enrollment into Zoom University. A majority of my professors are not “tech savvy”, so attempting to go entirely online has become another struggle. This isn’t to say that students also aren’t struggling — because I sure as hell am.

Perhaps I never knew how dumb I truly was until I had to take classes independently, but there’s something about hearing a professor explain an assignment instead of reading an instruction guide delivered through a word doc. I have been annoying a lot of my professors with silly questions in attempt to understand large assignments, and don’t even know where to begin with others. It all feels like I was given an instruction manual on how to defuse a ticking bomb.

I also have been having a battle with my boyfriend over when he is and isn’t allowed to talk. For my quarantine, I am living with him and we are sharing his bedroom as both of our “workspaces”. My computer is hooked up to his TV, which sits right beside his computer. It’s been a challenge of talking really quietly during my early morning class while he sleeps, and shushing him in the afternoon when he’s playing a game with his friends. It’s certainly been a testing point, but we are making it work.

It’s all a learning process I guess — but is it worth my GPA?

I believe that I’m probably one of the lucky ones. My major isn’t hands on lab work, or requires a certain number of hours doing a task. One of my hometown friends is a nursing major and I joked with her that schooling for her would consist of surgeon simulator.

There are some lessons to be learned over the next few weeks as the semester comes to end, and I hope we all can do our best to get through this.

  1. Patience is a virtue: Realizing that everyone is new to this online courses thing, and even if you know what you’re doing and are sitting cozy in your house doesn’t mean the same for others. Everyone is trying their best under these circumstances.
  2. Being responsible doesn’t look the same for everyone: Responsibility is a major component in taking an online course. You have to be self-motivated, know deadlines, and put away enough time to do assignments. Doing this is different for each person, and we cannot judge each other during this time for how one is coping and learning.
  3. Togetherness = Greatness: There is strength in numbers. This is a time that depends on students who embrace each other and help each other out. This means talking, asking questions, and supporting one another to assure that everyone gets through this, together.

I wish everyone the best of luck. I am rooting for everyone who is also now spending a semester at Zoom University.

--

--