Colin Powers
#im310-sp20— social media
1 min readMay 8, 2020

--

Emoji Blog Post about my Girlfriend and our Communication Online

👁 absolutely 💕 my girlfriend. We are inseparable and she is the ☀️ of my life. Of course, seeing her in person🧍‍♀️is always ✔, but sometimes it is just unfortunately 🚫 impossible. Our communication 💬 when we’re online 🖥 is fascinating however, because I know it’s not analogous to when we 💬 face to face 💑. For example, when we say ‘lol’ what it literally means is 😆 or 🤣. But what we actually do in real life is more akin to 😏 with a small bit of 💨 coming out the 👃. A small sign of something a bit 😄, but not 😆ing or anything. Then there’s ‘lmao' which is like ‘lol’ on steroids! 💪💪💪 That’s how you know something is 😆, right? You’re 😄ing your 🍑 off 😂 and probably in 💦s! (Those are tears.) Well, it normally follows something unfortunate for my ❤, such as “👁 spilt ☕ all over myself, lmao.” For her, it’s a reaction to something that’s more 😢 or 😰 or even 😭, which is interesting 🤔 because it’s counterintuitive to the abbreviation. Still, I reflect her colloquialisms. I can’t help it, I look up to her 🥺. Or do I look 👇 to her, since she is shorter? I hope she doesn’t see this 👀.

--

--