Why Social Media?

sarah bryer
#im310-sp22— social media
1 min readJan 30, 2022

When we think of social media today, we can come up with a number of applications: TikTok, Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat…. My #1 most used platform is Instagram, it's where I network with old friends and keep up with their lives. If it weren't for social media, I would most likely lose touch with a lot of my friends from High School. It is a great platform to look for content, socialize, even look for dinner ideas; but many people don't realize how addictive and toxic social media can be. Yes I know, reading this other people are thinking “here's another anti-social media person”, but that's not true…I do support the platforms to an extent. When Facebook first came out, it allowed people to make new friends and network with people who went to their school. Now social media has become addictive. I cant go a day without hearing about TikTok, so annoying.

In the future, it will definitely get more addictive and combine with a “normal” lifestyle.

--

--