What is Social Media

Reuben Stoll
#im310-sp24 — social media
2 min readJan 30, 2024

To me, Social Media is the means and the platform in which we are interconnected with everyone around the world. Social media allows us to create, share, and see content produced from all walks of life for entertainment.

Social Media is relevant to me because of how prevalent it is in not just my life, but the average American student's life. I first started using social media when I turned 13. Social media quickly opened me up to different online communities and trends. While for the most part, this was a positive this was also a negative, social media can be very toxic and harmful. While over the years I have seen funny and interesting content, I have also been exposed to graphic and inappropriate content by accident.

In society, Social media acts as a double-edged sword. Social media is a catalyst for connection and communication. It allows for people to have a platform to encourage social and political change. On the contrary, it also risks isolation, cyberbullying, and spreading misinformation, Ultimately, how we choose to engage and use social media determines its impact on our lives and communities.

The part that interests me the most about social media is how we can use it to connect with people who we may have never met without it. For example, through social media, I was able to play video games with people all over the country. Additionally, I built friendships while never seeing these people in person.

I think the future of social media is interconnected with the deeper integration of AI into our everyday lives. In the future content will be personalized in immersive formats. I expect content to increase in the metaverse with innovative technology. Lastly, I think more laws and regulations around social media will be put in place to prevent some of the negative effects of social media.

--

--