Students at Extera Public School taking science to the playground

Meet Imagination Ambassador Christina Ung!

Catherine Belcher
Imagination Blog
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

--

This is the second in a series introducing our new Imagination Ambassadors. Through this program, we look to acknowledge and harness the energy of our experienced Chapter Leaders and to support and enhance their work in turn. Each has graciously agreed to serve in an advisory position to Imagination staff, and to assist in mentoring others and supporting the efforts and activities of the Imagination Foundation. We welcome and appreciate their willingness to help us grow!

Los Angeles, California

“I am a teacher in Boyle Heights and when the news came out that Caine’s Arcade was a viral phenomenon, I had to share the video with my students. They immediately asked if they could do it too and I couldn’t say no. My class and I participated in the first Global Cardboard Challenge and I have incorporated creative play into my teaching ever since. So when the Imagination Foundation was formed, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to do what I love and learn from others around the world.

My chapter started in my classroom at Extera Public School where creative play was woven into my curriculum and tied to project-based learning projects. I taught 3rd grade and would loop with my students to 4th grade. Slowly other teachers at my grade level became interested and then we started doing it with all of our 4th grade students. Now, I am out of the classroom, but leading the Tinker Time Pilot Program at my school which incorporates creative play with teaching English Language Development (ELD). I am currently working in 2 kindergarten classes, 2 seventh grade classes, and 2 eighth grade classes.

The coolest experience working with my chapter was getting to participate in the Google Making and Science YouTube series with my students. It was amazing to see them speak about their experiences with such passion, pride, and confidence. I still cry every time I watch the videos.

I love puzzles. I make a few jigsaw puzzles a year. I glue and frame them and give them as gifts. I also love escape rooms, sudoku, and riddles; anything that challenges my thinking.

I would have to say that Caine Monroy is my favorite creator/inventor. He showed, and continues to show my students that someone who looks like them, who acts like them, and who is from where they are from can do amazing things and create the unimaginable. He has empowered my students in ways that no textbook can.”

Watch Christina and her students from Extera Public School in the Science at Play series, made possible by Google.

--

--

Catherine Belcher
Imagination Blog

Director of Learning and Engagement at Imagination.org @teachingharry — Co Author, Teaching Harry Potter: The Power of Imagination in Multicultural Classrooms