Meet Imagination Ambassador Steve Auslander!

Catherine Belcher
Imagination Blog
Published in
3 min readMay 18, 2017

--

This is the fourth in a series introducing our new Imagination Ambassadors. Through this program, we look to acknowledge and harness the energy of our experienced Chapter Leaders and to support and enhance their work in turn. Each has graciously agreed to serve in an advisory position to Imagination staff, and to assist in mentoring others and supporting the efforts and activities of the Imagination Foundation. We welcome and appreciate their willingness to help us grow!

Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

“I’m a 5th grade teacher in Indianapolis, IN. Aside from my work as a Chapter Leader, I am also a Skype Master Teacher, Microsoft Innovative Educator Expert, Class Dojo Ambassador, PBS Digitial Innovator, and IU Jacobs Educator.

I’ve been involved with the Imagination Chapter for several years ever since I sent a tweet to Alice Lin with a really fun Animoto video highlighting my class’ Math Arcade, inspired by the Caine’s Arcade film! Like many of you, I was a member of the pilot program of Imagination Chapters, and this is my third year running a chapter with my class. We meet twice a month after recess and engage in a variety of creative projects.

We’ve had some amazing experiences over the past few years. It’s hard to choose a favorite, but I definitely loved it when my students designed custom ordered capes for Choose Your Own Adventure’s staff, and they thanked us by shipping us cases of books and collaborating with us to create a story together over Skype.

Here’s a highlight reel video of this experience: https://animoto.com/play/T0hBIUl1nD46Rjhd9hPfpQ

One unique thing about myself is that I create math parodies to the tune of popular music, and instead of J-LO, I go by the alias of Mr. A-LO. I let my students choreograph music videos, and one of our goals is to have Taylor Swift retweet one of our songs. Here’s an example: http://www.schooltube.com/search/?term=remember+to+simplify

I also love karaoke! In fact I’ve sung Livin’ on a Prayer at multiple weddings. At my sister in law’s wedding I was asked not to sing Bon Jovi with the band, and I didn’t…but my son did!! So, for my favorite artist, I’m going to have to go with my favorite since 4th grade, and my go to karaoke song’s writer, Jon Bon Jovi. Many teachers celebrate Dr. Seuss’ birthday, but few know that Jon Bon Jovi’s birthday is on the same day! Check out how my class celebrated May 2nd, (Read Across America Day) last year: https://soundcloud.com/user-267863535/livin-on-a-prayer-read-by-5th-graders-on-read-across-america-day

For more information on Imagination’s Chapter program, click here: http://imagination.org/our-projects/imagination-chapters/

--

--

Catherine Belcher
Imagination Blog

Director of Learning and Engagement at Imagination.org @teachingharry — Co Author, Teaching Harry Potter: The Power of Imagination in Multicultural Classrooms