Fiction | Life |Inspiration

Fifty Years Ago, Exactly Today, At This Hour

The Power and Darkness Of Her Memory

Eko B
Imaginative Fiction Out There
8 min readJul 14, 2022

--

Photo by Jann Christoph von der Pütten

Prelude — An Unprecedented Question

“Grandma, why can’t we take a walk in the forest?” Suri asked. Her Grandma looks at the outside window solemnly. Her eyes are watery but empty. There is a feeling of numbness inside her. Maybe, that’s why she didn’t share it with anyone. Maybe, that’s why she doesn’t feel anything. She looks straight outside the window. Does she really have to walk through that memory lane again?… at this age? Fifty years later?…

Background: The Message From The Universe… Mystical? Not Really!

An image… a dismantled bicycle in the forest. It captured my thought and imagination. Thanks to Jann Christoph von der Pütten and his “5 Writing Prompts: Abandoned in the Forest.” With nature being my favorite place and a forest as a part of my existence ( I always think that my brain looks like a forest), I can’t help but stare at each image for minutes and minutes, especially a dismantled bicycle in the forest.

So I cooked up the first paragraph above last night. Then, my thoughts became rebellious, going in all different directions. I decided to give it a rest…

--

--

Eko B
Imaginative Fiction Out There

I'm in love with imperfections and possibilities. The commitment to unlock and shine by keep on putting together the broken pieces to create a masterpiece.