Rishi Ranjan
IMG IIT Roorkee
Published in
4 min readDec 30, 2019

--

Experience at IMG, IIT Roorkee

IMG, a place where I’ve spent a good part of my last year, writing code, having fun or just doing random things, I didn’t realise when it became such an integral part of my life, but I’m so so glad it did.

Recruitments

Like any other freshman, I was also fascinated by the tech-groups on the campus, what they do and how great it would be to be a part of such a group, and so started the journey to find the perfect group to fit into. After trying my hands in a few things such as competitive programming, android dev, and other tech stuff, information security and web dev felt much more intriguing and intuitive to me. So, there it was, my preferences narrowed down to two groups, SDS or IMG. Talking to one of the seniors (who was also a member of IMG) kinda tipped by preference in that way too.

So, January came by and so did the recruitment for the groups which started with the written tests. I was selected for the interview of both SDS and IMG as a developer, and after a long process of a challenging BUT learning technical interview and an awesome grilling HR round, I was eager for the results. I still remember sitting in the IMG lab while waiting for my HR round and being WOAHed (no, seriously) by the awesome lab itself. At that moment, I knew my choice. So, when the results were out, and I got a call from both, my choice was clear, it had to be IMG. And Voila! I was in the group 😊😊.

First Sem — First Step

So, the first semester with IMG was a great learning experience for me. We had lectures covering the various topics and skillsets required to become a good…no… a great developer, taken by seniors who knew what they were talking about. The designers and developers had frequent lectures to get everyone acquainted with the entire work process. The assignments followed after every lecture and so did their deadlines and trust me, they were pretty great and completing them on time felt good(maybe because of a rewarding chapo 😜😜). Oh, and did I mention the awesome lab that we have. The facilities that we had were amazing, we have a pi, Alexa and whatnot, and we do put them to great use.

Well, work and everything is great, but when do we guys have fun? In the lab, folks. The awesome chapos, movie nights, gaming nights, solani walks or just random bakar. We do it all. Oh, and preparing for our farewell is one of the most enjoyable parts of this awesome journey when art, craft and random games fill our nights. Then there’s the annual photoshoot which is a great experience in itself(this is when we recreate memes our way 😄😄). All of this filled my first semester with memories I can’t ever forget. It made my first year at this place just that sweeter.

A picture of our farewell party. Oh, and why am I in shorts? That is a long story😅😅

Second Semester — Journey Continues

So, the second semester starts with everyone being assigned their respective projects as their major tasks along with a minor project to work with any new technology or something new we wanted to, to build cool things of our interest so that we can also try something we might not otherwise, so that was pretty cool in itself. While working on the project, I picked up a lot of skills that would otherwise be difficult to get during one’s college life like time management, team-work and most importantly bonding with people. My knowledge of technical things improved a lot, and I evolved from being the crude programmer that I was(yes, we do follow clean coding practices 😉). The minor project in itself was quite fun, and I got to work with a raspberry pi for the first time (it’s a pretty cool thing btw). Whenever I was stuck somewhere, or I couldn’t understand something, the seniors or for that matter, anyone would be very willing to help, and that is the best thing about being at IMG, that we know we always have a place to come to, that we all have a family away from home. Well, IMG and it’s great memories have been a huge part of my stay at this institute till date, and I hope to create many such memories with this family.

Oh, and the freshers, see you guys at the recruitments.

--

--