Why I’m not joining a startup I trust upon

Satyam Gupta
imLolman
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2019

Usually, experienced programmers write about their Big mistake of not joining the startup they were offered and regreting when the startup became a success but this story is something Else. Hi, I am Satyam and I welcome you to this article “Why I’m not joining a startup I trust upon”.

Yeah, as You Guessed it I am a well-experienced programmer and tech enthusiast. Although I have a job for which I am waiting for my Joining date, I am offered a CTO position at a startup. I really like the idea of the startup and I trust my team and myself as well but still, I want to respectfully deny the offer.

This is a tough decision whether one should join a startup or join a job as a beginner in this field because this is a crucial stage of your life and in this stage when after 15+ years of study you finally get a chance to earn and have some income. Truly, an experienced professional will tell you to join the startup “if you know that the startup will succeed” but I at this stage don’t think so.

I want to Learn

I want to learn how this tech industry(corporate) works, how this job system works? I want to know how employees and companies cheat on each other? How this project-based system works and how these companies spend a lot of amount on their employees and still earn Millions? I want to see the insights of a company, what employees want, what the manager wants and what the company wants? There are a lot of questions left which definitely can’t be answered by reading an article or asking. This is the same as a teacher must know what does a student want and how should a teacher behave to their students.

You can assume this situation as you are offering a very reputed college to a 10th passed student. Yeah, that’s the great offer but without the experience and knowledge of 11th and 12th that would be a huge problem.

Financial Situation

Yeah, I know that after a small success in this industry, as a CTO and with good equity, one doesn’t care about finance because, well 💰. But what about now? Every penny matters because this is the first time you are earning and standing on your legs instead of asking money from parents. Everyone does the hard work and spend 15+ years for this moment only and when you’re getting a good monthly stipend why would you ignore that especially when a company is sponsoring your masters as well. Many of You guys will say that sponsoring masters is Just a gimmick but do you think a startup isn’t?

Probability (Fear of Loosing)

Yeah, I know the probability and I also know how much startups fail/succeed at the starting. Trust me, don’t take it the wrong way, I trust the idea and the team but thinking of failing after 8 months of huge hard work and dedication is tough and is not satisfying. Think of it, one won’t have the job, with a weak financial situation and a broken heart It would be very very tough to find a job at that moment.

Movie/Series Seriously?

Yeah, I’ve watched TVF Pitchers and The Social Network and they are awesome but they had savings and not dependent on parent’s money for their living. They were mature and experience regarding this.

What do you think?

I seriously want to know your thoughts regarding this situation. Use the comments section for discussion and make it easy for everyone to decide what to choose at this stage.

--

--