A Reflection, Post-Showcase

Jillian Festa
1 min readMay 1, 2018

--

I experienced a standard dose of panic the week leading up to the showcase. The app had been in good shape for weeks (months, really), but I found the presentational side of thesis to be a daunting series of events. I wanted to find the most sleek and minimal way of displaying my content, with little to distract from the app and its functions. I eventually got my hands on a Mac desktop, to which I connected my phone and used as a display. I made a trifold poster board display as well, featuring brief copy and app placement mockups. I also enlisted a standing desk so that the monitor and trifold would be at eye level. Overall, I am satisfied with the way my setup came together and the feedback I received at the showcase. It was highly interactive, and users of all ages seemed to find it enjoyable and intuitive. I am very encouraged to continue working on this app after graduation as I now realize there might be a market. I met some wonderful contacts at the showcase and the next-day alumni/donor event which may lead to something as well — stay tuned!

--

--

Jillian Festa

SaaS, web, and app designer. Now posting a11y content as @accessibilityjillie