(Before Friday Everything Will Be) Done!: Week 12

Zoey Gater
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readApr 25, 2018

I knew there would be last minute adjustments but not this many.

So the past two days I was finally able to get my setup running! I realized that with the space given, I’m only going to be able to work with one projector.

Monday night was my first night to set up the projections. Millumin worked nicely, but there were a couple problems with the colors in my animations. The pinks/oranges weren’t really coming across so I knew I had to go back and fix that. There were also a couple small sizing issues (I realized that for some reason some of my animations weren’t the same size as the others and it was making the layout impossible) so I headed back to the drawing board and made those changes.

Tonight (Tuesday) I reset up — new colors and fixes so I was very excited but things did not go quite as well for me. The new colors worked but with the change in color i was able to see just how much of the projections were blocked by the trees in the courtyard. And they’re trees. Immovable trees. Immovable trees that limit my projecting space all the way down to about two windows out from the center.

So, I have to resize everything.

Again.

In less than two days.

Luckily, I’ve been working with lots of precomps in After Effects so I will (mostly) just have to rearrange and restructure instead of having to start from scratch again. I have some ideas on how best to shuffle things around that I need to execute ASAP. I know that because I have such little space to work with now, and after seeing the projections on the building I want more emphasis to be on the center. It’s the clearest canvas on the building, and I want to take advantage of it. It’s honestly pretty disappointing that I’ve had to downsize from the full building, to four windows, to two windows, but I guess I always knew that I would be at the mercy of the projectors.

The other issue I encountered tonight was the arena lights that were lighting up the football field. They weren’t on Monday night and the projector didn’t have a lot of light pollution to fight and things looked nice and crisp and clear. Unfortunately, the lights have an ambient effect on most of the courtyard between the buildings so tonight the projector did not look as strong.

I did also rent a camera to record the projections. I did one recording tonight, but the projections aren’t super clear on it because of all the extra light and the tree interruptions.

I just hope that with my changes I can get a nice clear projection to show off the work I’ve put into this project.

--

--