Bettering my Game (week 8)

Nicholas Parr
1 min readMar 28, 2018

--

After wasting far too much time trying to diagnose the bug I ran into a few weeks back I have finally decided to change the way my game works, and so, avoid the bug entirely. When playtesting it with people I found that they had a hard time with how the crew members moved and would often waste their movement because they had the wrong crew member selected. I decided to tie everything into the cameras so that instead of having a number of fixed camera locations to cycle through the player would select their crewmembers and get a camera with a view centered over the character in question. I then changed the movement so that when selected the area the particular character can walk to is highlighted so that they can walk around indefinitely within that area until the end their turn or perform an action (other than opening a door). I feel this has significantly improved the accessibility of my game so that people will have an easier time picking it up and playing it.

Unfortunately the highlights are not stopped by walls resulting in some odd configurations.

--

--

Nicholas Parr

Senior student at the College of New Jersey studying interactive multimedia with a strong interest in programming. https://www.nicholasparr.com/