Bug Fixing, and Struggles With Implementing Mechanics

John Canace
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readMar 1, 2018

I worked on bug fixing and implementing new mechanics. One of the new mechanics is based on getting the user objects to be destroyed when the player has user objects selected and right clicks on a server room.

Unfortunately, I failed to fully implement the mechanic and trying to figure out solutions to this dilemma. On the flip side, I resolved a small bug where if the player would click on a user object it would disappear by deleting an unnecessary C# script. Deletion of the C# script was necessary as it moved any selected user object in a negative direction on the z-axis and made the world map obstruct that object from view.

Coding this important mechanic into my game has been a challenge for me for these following reasons. Game recognizing when user object(s) have been selected and when the player has clicked on a server room with the right mouse button. Creating code that watches for these two conditions in a singular code file without causing any errors and creating unintentional effects has been difficult. Implementing a Game Manager has been troublesome to me because I do not know how to combine the important mechanics of my game and the concept of the Game Manager into one C# code file.

Figuring out solutions to these big problems will require the following. Resolving the issues of referencing when the player right clicks on a server room while having user objects selected and implanting a Game Manager will require assistance from either the internet or my professor. Resolving the issue of tracking when user object(s) have been selected will be accomplished by referencing a renderer that determines the shader of any user object.

--

--