Digital Jesus 2: Spare Parts

Recap

Timothy Lee
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readFeb 6, 2018

--

This week has been very productive. I’ve been scavenging for parts to help my project come to life. It’s been a week of research in both hardware and software. I came to the obvious realization that making a film is a much bigger undertaking than I originally thought. While watching video lessons and looking at equipment that I would need, I learned that there is a lot more technique and focus required to actual create the raw footage that I would need to work with in post production.

The Nitty Gritty

The lessons that I looked into this week were key framing and timing. I watched tutorials on how to utilize these tools in Premiere, as well as knowing when I should use them. There is a psychology behind making a film and I think the bottom line for me this week is to understand where my headspace is supposed to be when going into filming. The people that I choose to interview and the quotes that I take are going to be what the audience remembers, so that will control the entire ideology behind the documentary.

New Toys

I was able to get my hands on some equipment this week. I purchased a gimbal stabilizer for a camera as well as a tripod, so I’ll be able to play with them and get a good feel for them before actually using them for my project. I will look into making small videos with the gimbal so that I can get an idea as to how my final project will look and feel.

Coming Up

For this upcoming week, I’ll be looking into building sequences and shooting B-roll.

--

--

Timothy Lee
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018

IMM Senior at TCNJ. Connecting tech and church. Aspiring designer.