Digital Jesus: Contact

Timothy Lee
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readFeb 14, 2018

You’d think the most difficult part of creating a documentary would be the post production. Editing video clips, splicing them together, making something coherent and logical. I realized that it wasn’t that at all for me. Getting footage and editing it is great and all, but if you don’t get the opportunity to film, then there’s nothing at all.

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Recap

Last week was productive in one sense, and a dead end in another. I was able to learn a lot from tutorials on Lynda.com and YouTube, but after a certain point, the amount that I learn won’t be applicable if I can’t apply it to usable content. There’s only so much B-roll that I can chop up and throw together before I need something substantial. This is where I’m facing my biggest obstacles. Contacting professionals and higher authorities may seem simple, but there is always the issue of if someone is even important enough to get noticed. Experiencing this first hand has caused me to reflect on exactly how I’m going to structure this project so that if worst comes to worst, I’ll still have something that people will look at and admire.

Coming Up

Hopefully I’ll be able to hear back from some contacts soon, so that I will be able to get some good footage and make a lot of progress on this project. I will continue to look at the different aspects of video editing, specifically sound quality.

--

--

Timothy Lee
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018

IMM Senior at TCNJ. Connecting tech and church. Aspiring designer.