Entering the Electronics

Jonathan Sayre
2 min readApr 18, 2018

--

The second to last update before the show is here! Anthony and I have been hard at work this week creating the final version of our board game. This week, we ordered our cards to be printed by a third-party company, designed and printed out the final version of our board layout and its spaces, 3D printed the game pieces, and printed out the designs for our dice to be completed.

It’s a Lot of Stuff — Looking Good!

I have still been dragging my feet in terms of the app development, I just find coding work to be less fun than building physical things, so I wasn’t motivated to get down to the code when we still had game pieces to be printed. However, now that all of the physical parts of our game are here and complete, the coding of the app and building the RFID reader is all that is left, not that that is a small task with only one week left.

The real crunch time is here! This past week I lost more productivity time to being stressed and having panic attacks than I did to wanting to play videogames, which is a good indicator that deadlines are upon us and I have to really turn on in these final days. By this time next week I hope to have a functional turn order between players, cards that can be scanned in to the game, and different functions depending on what screen you are on (Scanning a card while in the shop should sell it instead of play it!)

With any luck we will all still be alive and ready to present our projects next week.

--

--

Jonathan Sayre

Passionate about video games and 3D CADD modeling, dabbles in mechanical physics and manufacturing.