Final Transformations

John Liou
2 min readMay 1, 2018

--

This week, I worked on final edits on the game, transforming adding finishing touches to my game, making it look more polished. First, I added a simple menu to launch and reset the game with, as well as the ability to get to the menu when hitting the escape key.

Next, I added a better and more detailed background, as well as adding better lighting to the scene, introducing fluorescent glow-in-the-dark fungi to the environment. By drawing the textures myself and importing them into two-sided planes, I was able to place particle effects behind the mushrooms, and light them through the holes that I drew in them. This allowed for a shining effect to appear on the mushroom.

In the same picture above, you can see that there is a lamp, this lamp is a checkpoint where you can respawn at when you die, when the player character steps near the lamp, a particle effect system is turned on, which gives the appearance of lighting the lamp up.

Finally, I added music to my game, with background music for the overall game, as well as a change in music entering the boss arena. I also have different sounds for each character being hit, the enemies, the player character, and the actions of each one, attacks, jumping, dashing ect.

--

--