Final Weekly Reflection 10

Michael Chen
2 min readMay 2, 2018

--

After experiencing the senior showcase from the side of a presenter I have learned a lot. Year after year as an Interactive Multimedia Major I have gone to the showcase as a viewer. I was always curious about what people were working on and what new technology they were using. Throughout the showcases I’ve noticed the most impactful presentations were the ones with the best speakers and best presentation. I noted this when I went into my senior thesis presentation for the showcase.

First thing I learned was when displaying something you have to be more open and friendly to draw in people coming towards my project. When I had someone using the phone mount that I had created I noticed more people from around gravitated towards my project. In the beginning of the showcase I was a little shaky when talking about my project but after two more people passed by I was pretty prepared for most questions and responses. I had talked to Alumni, parents, and industry workers for extended periods of time. I slowly learned that I would not be able to get most to try the project with only one prototype made. As I talked to people I saw others come close but then move away when they saw that I was busy. Since I would not be able to get as many people as I wanted I learned I had to make long conversations more meaningful. When doing this the conversation would go farther and we would be talking about career goals and what the person who I was talking to does. This was useful for information on their background and how they might have been able to help me.

I was a little disappointed when it ended because I had no time to see my other peers projects but overall the experience of the whole show was very good in my opinion. There was a lot of traffic within my room and I think most of the people who had played my game enjoyed it. I think the progression of my project throughout the semester went pretty well. The only thing that I wished I could change was getting another iPhone so that I could have tested the newer version of ARKit and adapt based on that. That might have allowed the AR abilities within my game to work better indoors with the worse lighting.

--

--