First Week getting back into the AR Game

Michael Chen
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readJan 31, 2018

This week I was trying to move back into my senior thesis augmented reality game mindset. Over the break I worked on the game a bit but now I needed to make sure I have everything organized so that I will be ready to go all in.

I started out by looking at my overall progress with the game. Putting all of the info into a Trello board definitely helped with this part. I was able to break down the different parts of my project and see what I have done and what I have left to do. I have the enemy character modeled, rigged, controlled, textured, and somewhat animated. I also have tested the character in a augmented reality environment with Unity and ARKit. Getting the character in is just one milestone for this project. I have a lot more that I have added to the Trello board that I need to work on. After taking a look at the 3D model I took a look at the animation. After testing the project in the fall I noticed I needed to make a tweak to the walk animation to make it run more smoothly. I made the tweak necessary and went on to the next part.

The next thing I wanted to do for the project is to just start thinking more about it to get the right mindset when working on it. I needed to get more creative and into the project. I thought about what the best next step would be to take. I decided the next step would be to get the enemy character to move in the game and attack the character. I could do the animation for the attack later on. I think I should get the functionality of the game working now that I have a basic enemy character to work with.

More research that I have looked into is Snapchats new bitmoji Augmented Reality animations. I think these are pretty similar to what I would like to do except without the functionality of a game. I will definitely take some inspiration from their successful approach to augmented reality.

--

--