Gadget testing week + new directions

Jillian Festa
1 min readMar 8, 2018

--

I spent this week testing the Empatica E4 wearable to track GSR and heart rate while I play violin and sit in class. I ran into trouble with the device connectivity, which significantly discouraged me from using GSR as a cue for musical effects. I might consider developing this project with the Apple Watch in the future instead, but I will continue to see what I can do with the E4 for the next week or two. I also tested pickups for the violin, in tandem with a preamp and amp. The performance component to my project might require electronic amplification, so I wanted to make sure I was comfortable playing with such gagetry. Over the next two weeks I plan on sitting down and coding the rest of my app, implementing UX and UI and filling out the rest of the playlists and emotions.

--

--

Jillian Festa

SaaS, web, and app designer. Now posting a11y content as @accessibilityjillie