Getting useful info from tutorials

Michael Chen
2 min readFeb 14, 2018

--

I bought this ARKit tutorial from Udemy called ARKIT & Unity 3D, creating Augmented Reality Apps with C#. This tutorial took me through the process of making an AR game with two tools I was already familiar with. C# and Unity go hand in hand when making games and being familiar with these two tools I was able to skip the basic intro.

Still of the tutorial game

As I went through the tutorial the first time I made sure not to just watch it. I followed each step through the process and made the game myself. I took note of what scripts would be useful for my own game and what I could alter to make better me. The scripts he went through were overall not too difficult. The real benefit that I gained through this tutorial was the right tools to use from the Unity ARKit plug-in and how/when to use these tools. Making the full game through helped me see the whole process into making a simple AR application myself.

Now that I have had a break from the tutorial I am going back into it to refresh and use some of the useful scripts and techniques. The second time around is going a lot quicker now that I can recognize all the techniques used throughout the tutorial. Using placeholders for characters and environments allow me to put in my own art later. This time around I will also alter some scripts based on the noted I took the first time I went through the tutorial.

--

--