Last few hurdles

Jiovaine
3 min readMar 27, 2018

--

So I apologize for the lack of real content from my last story, but I promise that this time around I have a lot more to showcase. The reason I didn’t show off the museum last week was because I was fixated on finishing the last bit of coding to make my game complete, but I’m having issues trying to figure out how to make the weapons be detached from the player. Fortunately I still have a month to figure this out but time is running out and I would rather have this done as soon as possible.

With that out of the way I’d like to go over what IS finished.

Pretty much the finished exterior of the museum
Main hallway (with a peak of the second floor)
Bit after the main hallway
Near the back that leads upstairs
Upstairs with a bit of decorations

So as you can see the basis of the museum is pretty much done with a bit of fine tuning that still needs to be implemented. The plan for right now is to just have the museum finished for right now and then import everything to Unity and finish the game. Afterwards, with the time I have left I’ll go back and polish the museum as much as possible. As you can probably tell there is a bit of a scaling issue which can be fixed easily so I’m not worried about it. I have a first person controller perspective in Unity so thankfully I can get a feel of how big I want the museum to be compared to the player.

That isn’t all I managed to finish though as the texturing for the RWBY weapons are also done and imported to Unity.

Myrternaster (2nd from the left) is a bit hard to see because of the white walls behind, but of course I will fix that.

Not only are they modeled and textured, but they also have unique animations that are much different from the rest of the weapons. This is because of how much more intricate they’re designs are and how they’re used to fight. And of course, I plan on going back to polish these and the other weapons when the game is finished as well.

It may not seem like much and there is plenty of room to improve, but I’m incredibly happy with how everything is now coming together and I hope that it will leave a good impression on the players. If I had to give a number I would say the game is around 85% finished now and will jump up to 95% when the coding is figured out.

In April, I want to have one of my weapons 3D printed so I can have a prop to show off that will hopefully entice people to check out my project at the showcase.

As for next week, I’ll introduce some of the original weapon designs that I’ll be adding to the second floor.

--

--

Jiovaine

Interactive Multimedia Student at the College of New Jersey