Next Steps: Performance Ideation and Wearables

Jillian Festa
1 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

This week I worked on brainstorming the future of my thesis project as a performance experience. I met with Interactive Multimedia Chair Dr. Nakra, who lent me her Empatica E4. I have begun testing and troubleshooting the device, worn on the left wrist, while sitting in class and while practicing the violin. I initially noticed disconnect between my wrist and the device, and spent a good part of the week learning to sync up with the mobile application. Dr. Nakra advised I perform two completely different pieces live while the data collected from the E4 streams in real time. I might consider playing with my rock band for one example and playing solo classical repertoire in contrast. Next week I shall continue to test the E4, annotating each movement made and comparing it to the graphs in real time. GSR and heart rate are my main measures of focus for this project, and I’d like to achieve a correlation between my connection with the music and the tempo and such measures.

--

--

Jillian Festa

SaaS, web, and app designer. Now posting a11y content as @accessibilityjillie