Not my best week, but a week (week 5)

Zoey Gater
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

This week was not nearly as productive as I wanted it to be.

I had a lot going on this weekend outside of this project in other classes and to top that off, I spent most of the weekend trying to sleep off a cold. When I did get the chance to work on my project I creatively just kept hitting walls. I’d get to a point in the storyboard, and then question myself and restart all over again. I’m getting hung up on how best to visually translate the web/app element of IMM into a visual projection. The original idea I had was to make a faux-google type situation with the theme “what is IMM?” but that felt more like an encompassing theme for all the elements rather than a web specific one. It’s something that I am thinking about using for that purpose, but I still have to think of a good visual for the web/app element. As far as the film element goes, I actually storyboarded an idea for a silent film to play with the dialogue being displayed as text on the sides of the building but I’m struggling to think of a concept for the film.

But I guess this week was not a complete bust. I was still able to complete the storyboard for the “audio” bumper, and I guess figuring out things that won’t work is also a form of progress? I’ve also been looking up different after effects tutorials to teach myself different skills/effects I will need to create the animations.

left: Storyboard for the Audio element (sidenote — is there anyway I can use sound?) || right: Storyboard for the bad web/app idea that might make a good overall theme idea

Here’s hoping next week is better.

--

--