Progression Pictures: Week 3

Sarah Knipp
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readFeb 14, 2018

Three weeks into development and things are going fairly steady. Admittedly I have fallen a bit behind schedule, and there’s only one major update to talk about this time around, but regardless, I’m still moving forward and enjoying the work I’m doing.

Henri

Like I said I would last week, I have indeed completed a 3D model of the lovable behemoth, Henri.

In addition, I partially recorded the process of making him; the raw video here shows only the final steps of appending a model back together after it’s been sliced, diced, and mirrored, but I have over two hours of footage to work with.

I recommend watching at 2x speed

To that end, this week (and the following week if I’m being realistic), I’m going to shift gears and start researching a couple of key things so I can make some definitive decisions:

  • The vehicle for audience interactivity needs to be ironed out.
  • A proper, yet feasible, type of timed media (video or otherwise) for the actual progression must be selected.
  • Lastly, and I’m embarrassed I’ve put this off for so long as it’s probably the simplest thing on this list, I need to figure out how to properly convert Maya Binary files into .obj, .stl, or another file format better suited for 3D printing.

I already have an idea of where to start for the first two list items thanks to Bluecadet’s exhibit work in the Museum of the American Revolution. What I learn, though, will have to wait until the next update!

--

--