So Close Yet So Far: Week 10

Zoey Gater
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
3 min readApr 11, 2018

I can see the end and I’m both excited and terrified. The good news is that there is now a solid style set by the department that I need to match my animations to.

The bad news is that there is now a set style I need to match all my animations to, which means that I am once again back to the drawing board, reworking the animations that I keep thinking are finished and having to restoryboard the animations I haven’t gotten to make yet.

This is the banner made by the department.

Above is the new style. It introduces a new color palette and new fonts in addition to the use of the floating glowing boxes. The style has changed to a more neon feel versus the previous chrome feel that I had come up with.

Along with the style, I was given feedback from my professor about the animations I had finished which specified certain changes that needed to be made.

For example, in my audio animation, he critiqued the style of the boombox and suggested adding some kind of equalizer to represent sound, so this is what I came up with:

In the digifab animation, there was a suggestion to use more space and to make the details bolder (larger stroke & the use of a particle effect to really highlight the point of the laser). Here’s the new digifab animation:

I’m still working on the new version of the game animation. I’ve decided to move the brickbreaker out to the sides of the building — that way it will be bigger and the text will be revealed across the whole building. I also changed from a shooter to a more classic verison of the game with the bar that you ricochet the ball with instead. The center will now feature the glowing boxes moving into the shape of a circle which then has the IMM logo appear within it. You can see an in progress portion of the game below:

https://vimeo.com/264189100

Beyond these animations, my plan includes making video, animation, and web themed animations as well. I have a plan for the animation one, but it will be time consuming to create. I finally was able to nail down an idea for the web themed animation — I’m going to use the center portion of the building as a console and had fake code load in different elements across the other parts of the building (ex. loading a grid, changing the color, loading the logo, the logo rolling across the screen, and loading the details of the show last). For this idea I do want to get help with writing the code even though it’s fake just because I am not a strong coder and I want the good coders in the department to not be misrepresented by my own lack of skill. That being said, I want to keep the code overly simplified. My idea for the video portion is still pretty blurry, but I’m sure something will take shape in the coming weeks.

--

--