Starship Compromised a Reflection

Nicholas Parr
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
2 min readMay 2, 2018

Last Friday was my senior showcase where I had the opportunity to show of my project to the public.

While my project is still very incomplete I was able to get some important feedback from the kind people who tested it.

I can proudly report that after a bit of time to get used to the control and flow most users seemed to genuinely enjoy my game and so I can say with confidence that my game at least works as a fun proof of concept.

While I am over all happy with the progress I was able to make on my project I do wish that I had been more efficient with how I worked on my project. One thing in particular that I noted as I came to a close on work for my project was how mush bloat it had accumulated in the form of extraneous code and even entire scripts that were doing nothing in particular because I had needed them previously but they became entirely obsolete with time. I wish I had been able to come up with a better plan for exactly how I was going to complete my project but outside of a basic plan I had to essentially wing it.

The good thing about this was that I was able to greatly refine my coding skills and will be able to draw on this project for references in the future. However, I think if I were to continue work on this project I would want to scrap all my code and go through the process of rewriting it while using the old code as a reference so as to both optimize it and hopefully clear some of the bugs that have crept in.

--

--

Nicholas Parr
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018

Senior student at the College of New Jersey studying interactive multimedia with a strong interest in programming. https://www.nicholasparr.com/