There’s a set! It’s a set!

Haley Ann Witko
2 min readMar 2, 2018

--

This past week I did the scariest thing ever and painted black directly onto the burnt buildings.

Sitting on my dorm floor, paintbrush in hand, freshly mixed paint next to me and the set I’ve spent literal DAYS on staring at me. It took me twenty minutes to just go in and paint it.

Finished Buildings

If I had messed up, it would’ve been real bad news bears. I would have to start completely over on at least one building. But luckily I was able to go in and paint some pretty convincing burns. It was weird to conceptualize what buildings might look like after an explosion went off inside them, but i figured it wouldnt be much different from a regular house fire. I’m content with them, so then all it needed then were covers on the back.

The back were going to be extensions, as in i was going to close them off like boxes to create the illusion of depth. You’d be able to shine a light through the windows and see the light go across the “insides” of the buildings. So to do that, I had planned on painting cardboard and gluing it onto the back of the building faces. Instead of wasting time painting more cardboard, I ended up cutting up an old black cape I had from many a halloween. I figured it’d be perfect to use because the fabric wasn’t completely opaque and would stretch nicely.

Now it is time to move the set into the space. I’m honestly very, very nervous to move it into there. I don’t want ANYONE touchingg it. I’ve spent so long on it and am rather proud of the work I did, I would feel horrible if something happened to it. I’m trying to be optimistic, and telling myself that nothing will happen.

Now as I move into the new week, with better health and a SET- I can finally, FINALLY start to animate!!

--

--