Things can be done! (Week 4)

Nicholas Parr
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018
1 min readFeb 21, 2018

So this week I recovered from being sick and was able to get some work done.

First, I finished the first draft of the character UI screen/HUD so that you can get information on the state of your character and what they are carrying. I am focusing entirely on functionality right now so I just want to get things to the point that they can be understood without focusing on making anything look especially good. In addition I added functionality to some objects including the ability to open and close doors so now you can actually do something with your characters in my game other than just aimlessly wandering.

I should be able to finish with all the actions the player can take with their characters earlyish this week and be able to start working on the alien. While I am confident I can get a functioning player controlled test alien done shortly I fear progress may grind to a halt when I start to work on the aliens AI.

View of game with the HUD up and a glimpse of my locked door sprite.

--

--

Nicholas Parr
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2018

Senior student at the College of New Jersey studying interactive multimedia with a strong interest in programming. https://www.nicholasparr.com/