Updates to plug-ins, alterations, and adjustments

Michael Chen
2 min readFeb 21, 2018

--

This week I continued working through the tutorial and working with the updated ARKit plug-in. As I worked through the tutorial I noticed that the plug-in had added some new tools and objects within the scene. I had not used these before so I looked at the scripts that were attached. Looking at the scripts I was able to vaguely understand what was going on and I decided I would not need them for what I was doing. I disabled these objects but did not delete them because it’s always good to keep them in case I find out later that they will be of use.

I also had some issues when following the tutorial. The effect that happens when you get hit wasn’t popping up. I followed the steps in the tutorial but I could not get it to work. I had to think around the issue and create a workaround where I could call the effect when getting hit. I was able to create a workaround for the time being but I will need to change it later to make it more effective and add a timer to it to disable the effect after a certain time.

I did not get as much as I wanted to get done this week because of the holiday. I normally work a lot on this project over the weekends but Friday was Chinese New Year. This meant I had to go home and go over to areas in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and New York to visit family. This slowed down my progress but I was still able to get some work done the other days.

--

--