User testing week

Jillian Festa
1 min readApr 10, 2018

--

I asked the executive board of the TCNJ chapter of ACM SIGGRAPH to test my app. I took a step back and let them interact with it while I noted their behaviors. I asked them to talk through their process. We then had a conversation afterwards, during which I asked explained all the app functionality and asked if they thought something could be better communicated. I received some valuable feedback from this session:

The question mark besides the Opposite Mode does not encourage interaction as much as it should (when tapped it displays information about the mode). I will try adding a circle around the “?” to align more with industry standards.

Perhaps a sound effect to indicate “success” should play when an emotion is successfully registered in the camera mode.

I might consider adding a “show some” to the “show some emotion” camera view as initially intended.

I will experiment with adding a circle around the face so the user knows exactly where to be within the camera.

I will try to add a song shuffle / randomization functionality to each playlist.

Adding a quick introduction to the home screen (“Inner Speaker is an emotion-detecting music generator”) has proven successful, but I will continue to acquire feedback to see if I should add anything else.

--

--

Jillian Festa

SaaS, web, and app designer. Now posting a11y content as @accessibilityjillie