Week and a half left

Jiovaine
3 min readApr 18, 2018

--

So as the title suggests we have VERY little time left until the Senior Showcase. I have expressed before that I have little to no anxiety going towards this event, but the only thing that I am slightly worried about is how much lag my game has had lately. This is a probably the worst problem I have run into in the entirety of making this game considering that I want the players to experience the game and it lagging will cut that away.

Fortunately there are plenty of Mac desktops all over the second floor and Professor Fishburn informed me that the Macs are a lot more powerful than the laptop I am using right now and should be able to allow the game to perform better. Not only that but he also gave me methods to reduce the lag of my own game. I can only blame myself for the lag as I have imported countless assets into the game as well as utilizing an older laptop so I will just have to work around all of that.

Anyway with that out of the way I need to go over the progress that has happened in the past week. One of the larger coding hurdles is out of the way and the solution was incredibly simple and did not even require coding. I managed to get all of the weapons to animate multiple times after pressing the respect button. All that needs to be looked into now is having the weapons only animate when they are attached to the player. Fortunately one of my friends helped me with that so when I meet up with him again I will try to go over it again.

The Axe that I created which I dubbed “Cocytus”

So this is one of my original weapons that I will be putting on the second floor of the museum along with the Scorpion Blade from last week. For anyone who doesn’t know the name “Cocytus” derives from the river in the underworld in Greek Mythology. It’s a horrific place where victims are encased in solid Ice for the rest of their afterlives. As you can see there are no textures at the moment because I’m still figuring out what textures I want to put there.

Don’t have a name for this yet, but right now its just “Lightning Stave”

So this is the third and final weapon that I planned on having on my second floor. The purple sphere in the middle is meant to glow up during the animation and maybe give off a couple of sparks. I remember being able to animate colors in Maya, but I need to relearn in time.

So apart from all the Weapons being in the game now I also managed to implement enough sounds into the game now. There are sounds when each weapon swings and when the sandbags are destroyed. The weapons in Unity also look a bit cleaner and more metallic to give off a more realistic vibe. The game is in its polishing phase right now and I think I am set to give off a good show for the Senior showcase.

For the next week I will have the main map of the game finished and ready to show off. I plan on implementing a city around the scene and a skylight so that the players aren’t just looking at a museum on a white plain. Thank you for following my progression up until this point and I hope you will wish me luck as I round off the project.

--

--

Jiovaine

Interactive Multimedia Student at the College of New Jersey