Who Allowed This

Haley Ann Witko
2 min readApr 30, 2018

--

Who was lied to and gave me a prize. Who was deceived. Who allowed this bafoonery. I’m confused and ecstatic.

Not only was the showcase fun and satisfying for all the hard work I did, but it was also an extreme success. I can’t believe all the positive feedback I received as well as how many people talked to me about my future career goals…

Besides getting my name refered to companies such as Blue Sky and Laika, and reaching out to video game dudes, I was also offered an internship!!

However I think the craziest thing that has come out of all of this was the email I received this morning from Alice Cahn (former VP of Cartoon Network) congratulating me on R.A.D.I.S.H. and offering her help with making strides towards a career. (Holy shit)

I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunities this showcase gave me and the connections I’ve made. And if anything- this is just a huge confidence boost. I’m so happy about all of this and everything Radish became!

If there was anything I would’ve done differently from the beginning its the amount of animation tests. The fact that I did none, or at least one, could’ve changed the outcome of my final project. Within two attempts at animation I learned so much and changed my whole approach. Imagine what I could’ve accomplished after a fifth try- or eighth…

If there was any advice I could give to future seniors, it’s this: That big idea? Go for it. If you have a crazy plan that makes people look at you like a dingus, implement it. Let them doubt you because if there is anything that will motivate you to do a good job its the drive to exceed expectations. (I certainly exceeded my own expectations…)

Do something you’ve always wanted to try, something you’re passionate about. A passion project will always be more fun, and rewarding to work on than something you have to just “get done”.

I figure that Radish will continue in the future, perhaps as I originally intended as a graphic novel. And I still have the puppet so…maybe Radish will continue his adventure after all.

--

--