3/6–3/13 Weekly Reflection

Kelly E.
IMM at TCNJ Senior Showcase 2019
3 min readMar 26, 2019

Recently, I’ve been stuck in this slump of being unmotivated with my senior thesis while I worry about filling out job applications. I want to take this time to organize my feelings about the job search and the impact it’s had on me. I feel like failures during the search aren’t talked about enough because they can be seen as burdens and complaints. It’s like we are all suffering in silence, afraid to talk about each other’s bad news.

Rejection after rejection has made me internalize a lot of feelings of inadequacy and being unwanted. It’s taken a toll on my mental and physical health in a way I never thought it would. The beginning was the roughest part, because it took me some time to build up my resilience. I’ve compiled some things to keep in mind while applying, but most importantly, go out and talk to others! Share experiences and learn about other graduates’ career paths (mini courses are a great way to meet grads in person). Go to where the people are, because that’s where the jobs and opportunities are.

Without further ado, here are 10 things I’ve learned about my job search:

1. Forget about your application once it’s sent out

The employer will not always get back to you on your application unless they are interested in an interview. Waiting for that email after the second week is enough to drive someone mad. Accept that you were probably rejected and invest your energy in applying elsewhere.

2. Always check when the job was posted

I once spent two hours on a cover letter before realizing the job listing was posted over a month ago. I’ve learned that the older a listing is, the less likely you are to hear back from them.

3. Your passions may not always line up with your needs

California is a tech/entertainment hotspot. It’s also on the other side of the country. Are you willing to make the move to land your dream job?

4. Never apply to a job thinking it’s “the one”

There is no right way to live a fulfilling life, just like there are many jobs out there that can potentially bring you satisfaction. Never be dead set on just one career path.

5. Retail jobs can be very difficult to land an interview for

I got rejected from some Trader Joe’s and Wegman’s around my area and my heart broke just a little each time. Retail is also a competitive environment and should not be taken lightly.

6. The requirements section is utter BS used to weed out applicants

Don’t ever let the requirements section scare you. If you are interested in it, apply! There’s literally nothing bad that can happen. Everyone learns on the job.

7. Consider jobs outside your industry with a similar skill set

Never limit your possibilities. Designers work in marketing, research, engineering, construction, and so many other fields. Try expanding your keyword vocabulary while searching for jobs and you may be surprised to find new listings that catch your interest.

8. r/jobs is a surprisingly helpful subreddit that gave me some peace of mind

When I was deep in my slump and didn’t want to talk about my job search with family or friends, I went here for answers, where I found hundreds of people going through the same struggles as me. I also learned a few tips and tricks while browsing the posts.

9. This might just be the hardest thing you’ve ever done, and that’s okay

It has been for me. It will be over in time and all your effort won’t be in vain. Get out of your comfort zone and network! It’s all about the people.

10. “The more you know who you are, and what you want, the less you let things upset you.” -Lost in Translation (2003)

Best of luck.

--

--